O cakes!

recipes & inspiration for every day bakers

Spring Time Basket Weave

on April 17, 2012

This is a cake I just made last week for my friend Staci’s 26th birthday. She wanted anything with daisy’s, so I figured since it is now Spring time, the basket weave for the sides would look nice. It can be done on many types of cakes for all different ages, depending on colors, other patterns and textures you use.

When I first saw the basket weave, I knew I wanted to learn how to do this. It looks way more difficult that it actually is. This particular cake is a double-layer, 10 inch cake and it only took me about 10-15 minutes to complete the basket weave.

What are some “fancy” decorating techniques you use to impress your friends, but secretly are very simple?

2 responses to “Spring Time Basket Weave

  1. tlherrick says:

    Wow! That is great. You do a great job. Do you make cakes for other people? My daughter will love all that frosting.

Leave a Reply

