O cakes!

recipes & inspiration for every day bakers

Royal Icing Magic

on May 2, 2012

When I learned how to make and use royal icing, it became my new go-to technique. It is simple to make, all you need is meringue powder, pure confectioners sugar and water. After you create something, it dries to be fairly hard and lasts forever, and I mean forever! Smaller creations can dry in just an hour or two, but thicker, larger items can take up to a day or two. It can be very fragile, depending on how thin something is that you have created. Obviously, the bigger and thinner something is, the higher the risk it will break when moving it. I like to use it when i am putting something on top of a cake that I know I won’t be able to “free hand” so by using royal icing I can have a few attempts to get it just right without the risk of ruiningmy cake. I have used royal icing for snowmen, christmas trees, flowers, writing,bumblebees and many other symbols.

When decorating cakes/cupcakes, what is your “go-to” technique that you use?

Leave a Reply

